Week 1 What is Classroom Research?

What is classroom research and how can it improve my technology integration in my classroom?

Classroom research (action research) is a reflective practice. It is something that is done by you. You reflect, or research your own work, and decide whether or not it works for you (McNiff, 2002). The basic steps of action research are identifying a problem or something you would like to improve, creating solutions and then testing them. Finally, evaluating those solutions and if it works, changing your practice (McNiff, page 07). ” Kolk, the author of the article, “Embrace Action Research” refers to action as the change you are trying to implement, and research to refer to your understanding of the learning environment. According to Kolk, the action research process can help you understand what is happening in your classroom and identify changes that improve teaching and learning. By using this method, you collect data about your current teaching practices and at the end, adjust your curriculum content or teaching strategies as needed.

Action research can benefit and improve my technological integration in my classroom in many ways. First off, by “admitting” that I have a problematic area that needs improvement. For instance, classroom management. By following the steps of action research, I can identify changes that will improve my classroom management strategies. If how I present instruction on the IPad isn’t working, I can research ways that improve my delivery, or researching ways how the IPad can benefit in each subject area.  Another way classroom research can improve technological integration in my classroom is sharing my findings with others. Using the internet as a resource for my results will benefit other educators, and it’ll give me more practice with publishing and creating webpages.

University students completed a study on classroom research. At the end, they concluded that their literacy instruction improved, their use of resources improved, as well as collaborating with their colleagues. Some of the requirements included in their project was using at least five different resources, most of which had to do with technology. They were able to collect student data, work, assessments, and post reflections, in a more organized and understandable way.

References:

Embrace Action Research. (n.d.). Retrieved September 2, 2015.

Hong, C., & Lawrence, S. (2011, April 4). Action Research in Teacher Education: Classroom Inquiry, Reflection, and Data-Driven Decision Making. Retrieved September 2, 2015, from http://www.wpunj.edu/dotAsset/330733.pdf

McNiff, J. (2002). Action research for professional development Concise advice for new action researchers.

6 thoughts on “Week 1 What is Classroom Research?

  1. Sarah K.

    I would love to know more about how you present your lessons using an iPad. I want to move in the tablet direction eventually and have no clue where to start! I agree with what you said about admitting to a “problematic area”. It’s so hard sometimes to admit we are struggling with something. Classroom management is always at the top of my fix-it list.

    Like

    1. I always project my iPad screen onto the projector. With GoMath, I use their online website Think Central, and show my students short video clips (real world clips). That goes the same for Brain Pop. When doing projects, I show students where to go, or I use QR Codes that’ll take them straight to the website. Right now, I don’t have all my equipment to project my screen (or use AirPlay on my iPad), so I show my class the screen.

      Like

  2. Tristan

    I like your example with classroom management and action research. It seems to me, in previous observations, that if a teacher uses technology in their classroom, but the kids aren’t focused and doing what they are supposed to do it’s the student’s fault. If we take a step back and look at what is actually going on and evaluate ourselves as teachers, we could possibly see that maybe we didn’t set up strict enough guidelines or enforce them with appropriate consequences. It’s so easy to say oh the students don’t have the concentration or skills to use technology, but I think we really need to take a look at ourselves. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. One thing I say is, “IPads facedown.” When I’m at a point where I need my students to look at me, or watch carefully what’s being done on the projector, I use this method. It works great because the face of the iPad is on their desks, and they cannot see the screen. If a student is on their iPad but not completing the task, they lose their privileges (only on that project, if not the whole day).

      Like

  3. I think you might a great point about where action research can start: “by “admitting” that I have a problematic area that needs improvement.” I often find it very hard to admit failure or deficiencies. Yet, as you point out, admitting a problem is often the first step to success.

    Like

  4. Hi Genevieve – I really enjoyed your initial posting! Remember at the end of the week you do need a reflection of what you have learned and how you have interacted with others over the week!

    Lee

    Like

Leave a Reply

