ED 668 Week 5

EDET 668 Week 5 What are your thoughts about learning in the collective?

Douglas Thomas and John Seely Brown write, “Embracing Change means looking forward to what will come next. It means viewing the future as a set of new possibilities, rather than something that forces us to adjust. It means making the most of living in a world of motion.”

When I think about learning in the collective, I think about learning using Internet resources and new technology. This technology can be anything from an Apple product (smartphones, iPads, T.V.’s…), kindles, and you get it. According to an article written by Aaron Smith, 2/3s of Americans own a smartphone, and 19% rely on it for accessing online services, information, and staying connected to the world.

The new culture of learning is based on three principles:

The old ways of learning are unable to keep up with our rapidly changing world. (2) New media forms are making peer-to-peer learning easier and more natural. (3) Peer-to-peer learning is amplified by emerging technologies that shape the collective nature of participation with those new media (Thomas, et.al, loc, 577).

I learn a lot from the media. I like that I can go online anytime (Twitter, Facebook…) and catch up on current events. Thomas and Seely Brown explain that collectives are not forms of public spaces. They are built and structured around participation (loc, 682). Participation is key in this “learning in the collective.” That’s why I agree with teachers who want to use social media as a tool in the classroom. I know when I was younger, I wouldn’t answer questions the teacher asked because I was too shy. If we allow our students to use digital resources to express their thoughts and opinions, everyone gets a say in the matter.

I don’t mind blogging, I think that it’s both a personal and collective. I get to share my experiences and knowledge. “People are not just learning from one another, they are learning with one another,” (Thomas et.al, loc 854).

Resources:

Learning in the Collective – Hybrid Pedagogy. (2013, April 17). Retrieved September 30, 2015, from http://www.hybridpedagogy.com/journal/learning-in-the-collective/

Thomas, D., & Brown, J. (2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Lexington, Ky.: [CreateSpace?].

U.S. Smartphone Use in 2015. (2015, April 1). Retrieved September 30, 2015, from http://www.pewinternet.org/2015/04/01/us-smartphone-use-in-2015/

3 thoughts on “ED 668 Week 5

  1. You wrote: “That’s why I agree with teachers who want to use social media as a tool in the classroom.”
    Have you used social media in your classroom? I teach elementary students and most social media sites have privacy policies against 13 and under using them. I have often thought about using blogs in my classroom, especially after reading this week’s chapters. I have seen/heard of some elementary teachers using Edmodo. I might look into that. I went to a teacher class this summer and we were expected to post on Edmodo at the end of each day. We had to share 2 things we learned/discovered and 1 thing we still wondered about. Then we were supposed to respond or add a resource to 2 others postings. I thought doing the same activity in my class would be fun and my students might enjoy sharing their learning online.

    Like

    1. I’ve used Edmodo before, but it was with a multi-age 4-6 grade class. Class Dojo is like Edmodo, I can post and write messages to students or parents. My k-1 class is too young to respond. I recommend Edmodo, it’s great!

      Like

  2. I, too, am some what shy. Enough that answering in the classroom is intimidating. I try hard to keep it safe for my students. I always emphasize my errors so that they realize that they too can survive an error. I can see how media can give a voice to the quiet ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

