ED 636 Week 5

How will data collection look for me? What challenges am I anticipating?

Right now, I am thinking that the data collection method I will use during my research is observation. Observations are the most common type method for collecting data in qualitative research. All observations take place in the setting where the phenomenon of interest naturally occurs (Merriam, et.al, 137), mine is in my classroom with my K-1 students. I will be observing 4 kindergarten students (2 boys and 2 girls), and two 1st grade students (2 boys).

The reason why I will be conducting observations is because it is the most efficient way to record behavior and engagement as it’s happening. Class Dojo allows me to make observations throughout the school day, while adding or modifying notes. The nice thing about using Class Dojo is that I don’t have to worry about recalling information later. I can go to the app and add or take away points and modify notes as it’s happening. I will be able to access my Class Dojo via ipad or computer at school or at home. “Observation fosters an in depth and rich understanding of a phenomenon, situation and/or setting and the behavior of the participants in that setting,” according to the article, “Observation.”

My research question is how does using Class Dojo impact student engagement? When I see that students are engaged and following directions, students will earn points. When I see that students are not participating and on task, I will take away points. Student behavior is tracked individually, so that I can observe specific student engagement. My data will be collected and stored in Class Dojo. I’ll be able to view class reports, or individual reports. The reports can be customized into a spreadsheet or a graph, whatever fits my needs.

Using Class Dojo, I will add each subject and the students in the class. This way I can track the time of day, setting, activities, and so on.

“Observation is a major means of collecting data… It is the technique of choice when behavior can be observed firsthand,” (Merriam, et.al, 160). I will be “the insider,” which means I am a member of the group and a complete participant.

Resources:

ClassDojo. (n.d.). Retrieved October 1, 2015, from https://www.classdojo.com/

Merriam, S., & Merriam, S. (2009). Qualitative research: A guide to design and implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Observation. (n.d.). Retrieved October 1, 2015, from http://www.qualres.org/HomeObse-3594.html

5 thoughts on “ED 636 Week 5

  1. Tristan

    That’ll be nice using Clas Dojo and being able to keep track of behavior with points, but also be able to add notes for analyzing later. It’ll also be nice to have those spreadsheets and graphs created for you, that’ll save a lot of time. Are you planning on using any other types of data collection to triangulate your data?

    How did you decide which students to observe? Or are those all the students you have in your class? I understand small classes, my school only has one 1st grade student.

    Like

  2. It will be nice that the technology you are studying also records data. Will you be collecting any data on students’ thoughts and feelings. For example, will you collect: data on whether or not students enjoy Class Dojo, data on whether or not students’ believe that Class Dojo is effective, or data on how Class Dojo makes them feel?

    Like

    1. I want to have my students complete surveys. Simple for them to understand, i.e. smiley faces, neutral and sad. I only have six students and I don’t have them all at once, so it’ll be easy for me to track behavior. There is one first grade student who I want to observe more than the other, and two kindergarteners.

      Like

  3. I am interested to see how students feel about Class Dojo. Is there a way you could get a survey out to parents who are using the app to see how their child is doing? I would be interested to see if children ever talk about Class Dojo (positively or negatively) at home.

    Like

    1. I am hoping that I get all my parents signed up for Class Dojo, if I do I’ll definitely be doing a survey for them. I have two parents connected so far. I’ve been sending home reminders and notes to parents to confirm in their emails. That is a good point, I would like to know how my students talk about Class Dojo at home! Thanks Cherie!

      Like

Leave a Reply

