ED 668 Mentoring Proposal

Introduction

I use ClassDojo in my classroom as a way to track student behavior and engagement on my computer and iPad. I currently use it for my kindergarten (2 girls and 2 boys) and first grade class (2 boys). The four kindergarteners leave at 1:30 and then I get DOR’s second grade class (1 girl and 5 boys).

I chose to mentor DOR, because she does the same thing (track student behavior). However she keeps tally marks on a clipboard. With this mentorship, I hope that I can encourage and support DOR adapt to using technology as a tool to track student behavior and engagement.

Another reason why I chose DOR is because she has the 2nd grade class from 9-1:30, and than I get them for the rest of the school day. If we can use Class Dojo throughout the whole school day for the second grade class, I believe DOR’s job of tracking and monitoring student behavior and engagement will not only be easier and efficient for her, but also her students’ behavior will increase.

DOR doesn’t use technology. She has been a teacher for 15 years (including subbing) and she wants to make that change. She would like to join the “collective.”

Timeline and Plan

Week 1: Introduce Class Dojo to DOR and students

  • Explain what class dojo is and the reasons why I use it in the classroom.
  • Download the app to DOR’s ipad.
  • How to use the app on the ipad, and on the computer.
  • How to add students, classes, positive behaviors and negative behaviors.
  • How to add points, take off points.
  • Explain my goals as a mentor to DOR.
  • Setting up Class Dojo in the classroom.
  • Show how Class Dojo can track whole class and individual student behaviors.

Introduce Class Dojo to the second grade class.

  •   Get students familiar with the program.
  •   Start tracking student behavior and engagement.
  •   Explain the reward system (accumulating positive points will lead to rewards, negative points will set you back).
  •   Start tracking student behavior.
  •   At the end of each day/week, ask DOR for student points.
  • At the end of each week, have DOR fill out a questionnaire reflecting on the week using technology.
  • If anything needs to be changed/altered that will benefit the study, talk it over with DOR and make the change.
  • Add daily points earned to the student reward chart. Reward students based on the number of points accumulated so far.
  • Rest student points.
  • At the end of each week, have DOR fill out a questionnaire reflecting on the week using technology.

Week 2:

  • Have DOR continue tracking students’ behavior and engagement.
  • At the end of the week/day, record points.
  • At the end of each day/week, DOR and I will get together and report/analyze student behavior, and reflect on how her day went using technology. Specifically if she sees any differences from a ipad vs. clipboard.
  • Anytime DOR has questions, concerns, or suggestions, I’ll remind her not to hesitate to see me.
  • At the end of each week, have DOR fill out a questionnaire reflecting on the week using technology.
  • Add previous points earned to the number of points earned. Update student reward chart. Reward students based on the number of points accumulated so far.
  • Reset daily points.

Week 3:

  • Continue tracking student behavior and engagement throughout the school day.
  • Continue recording points at the end of the school day and rewarding students based on the number of points earned.
  • Look over student behavior with DOR, and analyze to see if we have made any improvements on student engagement and behavior.
  • Modify/adjust the study as needed.
  • At the end of each week, have DOR fill out a questionnaire reflecting on the week using technology.
  • Reset student points.

Week 4:

  • Continue tracking student behavior and engagement throughout the school day.
  • Continue recording points at the end of the school day and rewarding students based on the number of points earned.
  • Look over student behavior with DOR, and analyze to see if we have made any improvements on student engagement and behavior.
  • Modify/adjust the study as needed.
  • At the end of each week, have DOR fill out a questionnaire reflecting on the week using technology.
  • Reset student points.

Week 5:
Wrapping up the study. Reflect on our strengths and weaknesses with using technology as a tool to track student behavor. Ask DOR if her experience using technology in the classroom was a positive or a negative one, if she’ll continue to use Class Dojo and what she thought about the whole experience.

Data Collection

DOR and I will be collecting our data from observations. DOR and I will use Class Dojo to track, view, and print student reports. Class Dojo has the ability to track students’ behavior/engagement over a long period of time, which is great for seeing growth. It can also track positive points and negative points, compile into a donut report or a spreadsheet, and print class or individual reports.

I set up a Dojo Chart in my classroom for my K-1 Class. It’s great because students see where they are at beginning of the day and at the end. It’s hard for me to project Class Dojo throughout the day from my computer/ipad, because it points directly to my whiteboard. This visual chart on my bulletin board works well for my students and myself. I will set up a chart for the 2nd grade class, and as far as DOR’s growth in using technology; I will take notes after our conversations. At the end of each week, I’ll ask her a set of questions, or have her fill out a questionnaire, reflecting on her week of using technology. My hope for this is that towards the middle and end of the mentorship, her interest in technology use in the classroom will be greater than it is now.

All my data will be compiled into a binder in order from the day started.

Leave a Reply

