EDET 668 Week 6

What are the challenges in shifting content from what, to where and how?

“Knowledge is becoming less a question of what is the information, and more of a where is the information,” (Thomas, et.al, loc, 1252). I think the challenge from shifting content from what, to where, is knowing your resources and the contents importance. “Knowing where the information is found and… where it is being deployed,” (Thomas, et.al, loc 1296). I really liked the example provided in the reading about fining Iraq. Students couldn’t tell you where it is on the map, but they can show you how to find it. “Being able to find Iraq on a map was not a what question to them, it was a where question,” (Thomas, et.al, loc, 1276). The author says that the students attached a huge amount of importance to the where dimension, and that being asked where Iraq is, isn’t one thing it’s a multitude of things.

Shifting from where to how is like how we play, or make use of the context. “Culture does now create play, play creates culture,” (Thomas, et.al, loc 1359). When we “play” in our classrooms, students are not only more engaged, they’re also learning. “Play provides the opportunity to leap, experiment, fail and continue to play with different outcomes,” (Thomas, et.al, loc, 1378). How I play with my students in my classroom is thru math. I get two dice and have students role to find greater than, less than (K), or subtract and add (1st). My first graders and I also play addition/subtraction bingo. My students play all kinds of games on their ipads, I just need to find one that is consistent with the rest of the school and targets the standards.

In my classroom, I try to create a culture that is fun, happy, technology-based, and culturally relevant. It really does make it easier to “hang out, mess around, and geek out.” This new kind of learning “highlights the importance of understanding the power of collaboration,” (Thomas, et.al, loc, 1475). In the article “Engaging Classroom Games for All Grades” there’s a list of classroom games that are fun for all ages, which are great learning tools.

In an article called, “Games Kids Love to Play,” it talks about how playing games can build community. I believe that if we teach children the right way to “play,” it can teach kids the important qualities of cooperation, responsibility and self-control. “Playing games encourages children to move outside their usual circle of friends, challenges themselves, grow.”

Resources:

Engaging Classroom Games for All Grades. (n.d.). Retrieved October 9, 2015, from http://www.teachhub.com/engaging-classroom-games-all-grades

Responsive Classroom®. (n.d.). Retrieved October 9, 2015, from https://www.responsiveclassroom.org/article/games-kids-love-play

Thomas, D., & Brown, J. (2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Lexington, Ky.: [CreateSpace?].

3 thoughts on “EDET 668 Week 6

  1. I’ve been thinking a lot about the finding Iraq example that the book used and I’m not so sure I like it. I mean, I think it’s absolutely amazing that people can hop on the computer and find Iraq and look at so many different views of the same country, but I still believe whole-heartedly that they should be able to locate it on a map, or at least the general area. True, we are probably always going to have a computer or smart phone around and can look things up and tell you where it is, but if someone says something to me about Iraq and relates it to some Middle Eastern issue, I believe that I should be able to know where Iraq is in regards to the rest of the Middle East.

    For example, I told someone once that Israel had higher priced items than all the surrounding countries because they were surrounded by Arab countries and had very high taxes, and the person responded with “I thought Israel was in Europe.” Perhaps that person could hop on Google Maps and look it up, but I still think people should have certain basic memorized facts in place.

    Like

    1. I’m not specifically talking about looking up Iraq on the map, I’m talking about looking up a place in general. The ability to go on Google Maps and look up a location in various ways rather than pointing to it on a globe.

      Like

      1. Yes, I understand that. I’m just saying that as valuable as it is to be able to find a place, I still believe students need the “what” question of being able to locate it. I think it’s important for students to know geography so that when something is mentioned on the news or in the media, they can associate it with a place and not have to look it up on Google Maps.

        Like

Leave a Reply

