EDET 668 Week 8

What strategies do you use that are related to your “moral purpose”? How do these contribute to your overall leadership?

In education, moral purpose is about making a difference in the lives of our students. We demonstrate moral purpose in our classrooms everyday, in all kinds of ways. Whether it’s leading our students through our daily lessons and professional habits, or helping our collaborating with our colleagues.

When I’m asked why I became a teacher, I usually respond with, “because I enjoy being around kids, and I like making a positive difference in the lives of our future generation.” The strategies that I use, or exhibit in my classroom related to moral purpose, are simple. I greet my students with a smile and a warm welcome, or good morning and then I ask how they are doing. I also begin my days by rewarding students with Dojo points for coming to school on time, and turning in their homework. Throughout the school day, I demonstrate moral purpose by teaching and helping my students learn important skills. I introduce new projects, I do it enthusiastically, and I encourage them not to give up. I make my projects fun and engaging for all my students. Because I use Class Dojo, I give my students opportunities to think about what they’re doing, and another chance to change their negative behavior to a positive, to earn their point back.

There are some disadvantages to teaching in your home village. For instance, teaching your relatives. Sometimes, I find myself favoring those I’m related to. “If you don’t treat others well and fairly, you will be a leader without followers,” (Fullan, 13). What a great quote from the reading that I agree with. Even though I’m teaching such a young age group (5 and 6 year olds), I think that if you don’t treat everyone equally and with respect, people will treat you the same way. I have been trying different approaches to treat everyone the same way in my room, and if any of you have advice, I’d like to hear it.

“Every child in every class, in every school, in every city, in every country, deserves the best teacher.” Because of moral purpose, I think that every child, at least once in their lives, will have the best teacher that will impact them.

Resources:

Fullan, Michael. Leading in a Culture of Change. Somerset, NJ, USA: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2014. ProQuest­ ebrary. Web. 20 October 2015. Copyright © 2014. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. All rights reserved.

Leadership true to moral purpose: Schools as social service centres to Improve learning opportunities for all. (n.d.). Retrieved October 21, 2015, from http://www.icsei.net/icsei2011/Full Papers/0181.pdf

Moral Purpose. (2013, March 17). Retrieved October 21, 2015, from http://connectedprincipals.com/archives/7996

Mentoring Project

The teacher I’m mentoring is having a hard time incorporating Class Dojo throughout the school day. She feels that it takes up instructional time, ex: stopping in the middle of a lesson to add or take away points. We agreed that after her lessons, she would go and input the points using her computer. I’m teaching her how to use Dojo on the ipad because it’s more useful than the computer. I would like to see her using dojo more on the ipad, that way she can take it wherever she goes in the building.

One of the concerns she has is that it interrupts with her behavior system she already has in place in her classroom. We’re working together to make her system, and the Class Dojo system work for the 2nd grade class.

She is a beginner with using technology and I told her anytime she has concerns or questions, not to hesitate to ask me.

7 thoughts on “EDET 668 Week 8

  1. Genevieve- I think that is my response as well when I asked why I became a teacher. l love kids and want to see them succeed. Those are great strategies to use everyday. I think it is so important to greet students everyday and show them that they are happy they are there. I think I had the same as when I did my student teaching. I had some relatives in there and found especially when they are that age they want to call you Alla or Nana. I feel what you are going through and it is hard to tell them that here at school you are there teacher and after school you are there Aunt. I think that is still hard for them to understand that but if you keep telling them they may get it after awhile.

    Like

  2. I LOVED the comment about treating others well and fairly! I highlighted it in my chapter and put a big star next to it! Don’t worry, even teaching 3000 miles from home I find it hard to treat all students fairly.

    I’ve learned that treating every student “fairly” is really not possible (when thinking of “fairness” in the mathematical sense of equality). I have had to make the decision to “meet the needs of each student” instead of worrying about “fairness”. There are going to be students that need more attention than others, and that’s going to happen at times, but I try my best to keep in mind student “needs” instead of making sure they all get “the same” (fairness).

    I had one first-grader that just couldn’t control his body and sit still. He needed to sit near me at all times. His desk was in the front, his rug spot was near my reading chair, and sometimes he worked next to me at the group table even when it wasn’t his turn. He wasn’t treated this way because I liked him better or played favorites, but because it helped him to have constant reminders from me about his behavior. By the end of the year, he got to choose his desk and his rug spot because he had finally learned to control his body and get his work done efficiently. Fairness does not necessarily equal equality. For me, it means meeting the needs of my students.

    Sorry, I went a little comment crazy. 🙂

    Like

  3. We certainly aren’t teaching for the pay, we just love what we do. I too feel that I might treat my own children differently than others (since I have taught 3 of my own). So I find that I have to ease up on them because I am the opposite. I tend to be a little harder on them because I expect more from them. I was introduced to class dojo last year, do you use the home communication features?

    Like

  4. When you mentioned in our Twitter session that you were mentoring on using class Dojo, I was immediately jealous I did not think of that first 🙂 I am using class Dojo for the first time this year and like anything starting new it can be tricky and challenging, especially for a novice tech user like your mentee. I agree I think she will enjoy the app better because she will be more mobile. Does she have a laptop? I find keeping my laptop next to me helpful (however I am the type of person that takes my laptop everywhere I go) then I charge it during recess and lunch. Do her students seem to be motivated by it?

    Like

    1. We all have iPads and laptops, I’m trying to motivate her to use the iPad instead of the laptop because it is easier to carry around. She has been using class dojo on her laptop and is getting the hang out of it. This week I’ll try and get her to use it on her ipad.

      Like

  5. I, too, am related to many of my students. I make an effort to not have favorites. I fall easily to the easier relationships that have been developed and I have to make myself search for those I don’t know that well.

    Dojo; sounds interesting, I’ll have to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

