EDET 636 Week 8

How can data mining assist you in triangulating your research findings?

Analyzing data from different perspectives can assist us in our research in several ways. Triangulation helps us collect data on the same topic using more than one method. This helps with analyzing our research from different perspectives. Data mining also assists us in triangulating our research findings by validating our research because of the different samples collected and approaches used.

Two data collection strategies that we are familiar with, are interviewing and observations. Other methods of observation come from documents and artifacts. Documents can be anything from written, visual, digital, and physical material (Merriam et.al, 162). Common documents include official records, like public records or personal documents, newspapers, poems, songs, blogs and so on. Types of visual documents include photos, videos, films or web-based media.

Artifacts are physical things from the environment that represent a form of communication meaningful to the respondents. Merriam gives good examples of artifacts, such as trophies, awards, tools, utensils, instruments, gifts and so on.

The main purpose for triangulating your research is to learn more about your topic. Using artifacts and documents are both excellent resources to include in your research, along with interviewing and observations.

Update: How is my data collecting going?

Every time after I add or take a way a point for student behavior, I make a note. I try to remember how students are behaving at that instant, so I don’t have to stop in the middle of a lesson.

I’m always finding myself saying something when a student is misbehaving, or on task. i.e. “I like how this student is listening to directions,” “I don’t like it when I see students writing on my board.” This is usually how I get students back on task. When I say things like this I interfere with student behavior and my observations change. I guess I’m having trouble with what I’m supposed to say during a lesson so students aren’t disrupting others, without interfering with my observations.

I think having my ipad right next to me with Class Dojo open at all times might help. It takes up time when I have to stop, swipe my ipad on, open up the Class Dojo app, choose the student, and add/take away points. I think i’ll turn my auto-lock off or every 15 minutes, and have my dojo app open at all times. This might save me time.

Resources:

Merriam, S., & Merriam, S. (2009). Qualitative research: A guide to design and implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

What is triangulation of data in qualitative research? Is it a… (n.d.). Retrieved October 22, 2015, from http://www.researchgate.net/post/What_is_triangulation_of_data_in_qualitative_research_Is_it_a_method_of_validating_the_information_collected_through_various_methods

6 thoughts on “EDET 636 Week 8

  1. Genevieve- I am not sure on artifacts or visual that I would use for Kahoot. I was just thinking of observing and using the spreadsheet that Kahoot provides and maybe giving a survey or questionnaire. It is hard to observe and teach at the same time. I ask someone to come and observe and take notes for me one time. I think I will ask her to come in a couple of times. I think that would help.

    Like

  2. Tristan

    I think that would help save time to unlock your iPad, even those few seconds unlocking it you miss something and you wouldn’t have that issue anymore. Triangulating my research is showing me that what I observe and what the students are actually thinking are two completely different things, they must be some good actors. Have you noticed any differences in the different types of data collection you are doing?

    Like

    1. I just finished a parent survey, but they did not answer the questions that were write in. They only answered multiple choice questions, which were about internet usage at home, and how likely they are to use Class Dojo at home. I still have to compete my student survey.

      Like

  3. “Data mining also assists us in triangulating our research findings by validating our research because of the different samples collected and approaches used.” I think this is an important point considering how many of us are getting conflicting data from different sources. I am beginning to realize that this conflicting data can help us refine and redesign the research process so that the data is valid.

    Like

  4. I can see how it can be hard to observe and teach at the same time. Is there any way that you can set up something to video record your students? Do you think you could have someone come in and observe? Do you feel like you are getting useful data? If you need to bounce ideas off of someone who knows Class Dojo, let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

