EDET 636 Week 8 Reflection

This week I learned about the different methods of collecting data. I liked that we can use documents and artifacts to triangulate our data, along with interviews and observations. I never thought about using our tools in the classroom to help us collect data. I guess my ipad would be an artifact. For instance, using my ipad affects student behavior. When they see me lift my ipad, their attitudes change. They sit up straight, look at their book, and “pretend” they’re on task (all to earn points). This week I also learned how hard it is to observe students while teaching. It’s hard to be a total participant. I have to come up with a strategy to observe while teaching, I’m thinking a graph with my student names, behavior and time of day.

Leave a Reply

