EDET 636 Week 9

How will you go about making sense of your data?

“The right analysis approach will help you understand and interpret your findings…” Researches have their own ways of managing their data so that it makes sense. The first thing I’ll do is to cross-reference my data with my questions. I want to make sure that the data I’m collecting answers the purpose of my study (Merriam, et.al, 207).

According to an article written by Isaac, one way to manage qualitative data is to make copies of the research. Having an extra copy allows us to use one for note taking, and the other for safekeeping, “Managing Qualitative Data.” I think that I’ll make copies of my data just because it’s safe, and I like to write notes.

The next thing I’ll do to make sense of my data is to develop a coding system. Coding can be something like colors or acronyms. Respondents should have their own codes and can be organized with colored tabs, “Managing Qualitative Data.” I think I’ll have a tab for good behavior, and one for bad behavior.

One of the things that I think I will do as I’m labeling my data, is use symbols to mark what data I will use, might use, will not use. These symbols can be simple like a 1= not using, 2=might use, 3= will use.

The next thing a researcher should do in making sense of their data is to begin sorting the data. This is where I will create file folders, each labeled with the categories I chose (Merriam, et.al, 209). I’ll have one file for good behavior, and one file for bad behavior.

This way of organizing my data will make my analysis and reflecting much less demanding.

Resources:

7 Steps for Managing Qualitative Data – Academic Transcription Services. (2015, August 25). Retrieved October 28, 2015, from https://www.academic-transcription-services.com/7-steps-managing-qualitative-data/

Managing Qualitative Data. (n.d.). Retrieved October 28, 2015, from http://tobaccoeval.ucdavis.edu/analysis-reporting/documents/ManagingQualitativeData.pdfhttp://tobaccoeval.ucdavis.edu/analysis-reporting/documents/ManagingQualitativeData.pdf

Merriam, S., & Merriam, S. (2009). Qualitative research: A guide to design and implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Organizing and Analyzing Your Data. (2008, February 1). Retrieved October 28, 2015, from https://www.wilder.org/Wilder-Research/Publications/Studies/Program Evaluation and Research Tips/Organizing and Analyzing Your Data – Tips for Conducting Program Evaluation Issue 13, Fact Sheet.pdf

6 thoughts on “EDET 636 Week 9

  1. Tristan

    I like your idea with your numbers with the 1, 2, and 3, for if you will use your data or not. I think I might have to steal that idea and use it myself. I’m also making copies of all of my data and printing off my inputted data each day from the computer in case something happens and it all disappears. I like your ideas for managing your data, they are very helpful to me as I’m thinking through everything that has to be done after the data is collected.

    Like

  2. Genevieve- That is very important to do to cross-reference your data with your question. I will look at my question and think about that as I am going through my data. I tried to print out my data from Kahoot and it was so many pages that I am not sure what to do with it. I will try to go through and look at my result on my computer and compare to the paper copies and see if that makes better sense. I guess it is confusing because it is on a spreadsheet and on several sheets of paper instead of just one that I can look at. We will see if I can make sense of it. 🙂

    Like

  3. I agree that it is important to cross reference your data to your question, but I think it is also important not to become so focused that you miss other themes that arise. You might find that there is a specific time of day when one (or more) of your students loses or gains points and that could be really important information for you. It is just something I am thinking about when I do my research. I know I have to keep my research question in mind, but I’m going to code my data and then go back through it and recode it if necessary so I can see what themes arise.

    Like

  4. I also think its a good idea to compare your data with your questions. I need to make sure that I stay on topic with my data analysis and that I’m only concerned with answering my research question. My research has opened my eyes to other aspects of my teaching, so I need to make sure I don’t end up on any tangents and that I stay focused on my research question. I also like what you mentioned about having multiple copies of the data. I have some stuff on my computer right now, like my Likert survey results, of which I also have the original copies. My observation notes are only written in a notebook for right now, so I will need to make sure that I get those entered into the computer so I have them in another place as well.

    Like

  5. “The first thing I’ll do is to cross-reference my data with my questions. I want to make sure that the data I’m collecting answers the purpose of my study (Merriam, et.al, 207).” Both you and Sarah pointed out this important step. I hope to always keep my research questions in mind as I collect, sort, and analyze so that I do not stray off course in my research.

    Like

  6. Sara Lucas

    Cross referencing your data with your questions is a really important step that I didn’t even really think about. This gave me the idea of printing out my questions and keeping them out as I sort through data. I am one who is easily distracted and can go on tangents. I think having the questions in front will really help to sort through the data more efficiently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

