EDET 636 Week 10

What primary concerns exist in ethics, validity and reliability in AR? How are you managing these concerns (or how will you) within your study?

“Validity is the extent to which the instrument measures what it purports to measure. It seeks to establish the truth of the research and to enhance its credibility,” according to an article called Authenticity. Respondent validation is when you ask for feedback from your initial interview (Merriam, et.al, 246). One of the primary concerns for doing this is to clarify any misinterpretations. From my first survey with my parents, I’ve gotten pretty good feedback, however most of the parents only answered multiple-choice questions. What I’ll have to do is reword the questions they didn’t answer to get a response. I’m hoping if I approach the questions differently, I’ll get different results. Having my parents answer my questions, can help me answer the questions of how class dojo impacts student engagement, what motivates and demotivates students. For instance, if the parent sees their child not doing so well (behavior wise), the parent can influence their behavior.

“Reliability relates to researchers’ claims regarding the accuracy of their data,” according to Sagar. Another way to think of it, is if the study was to be done again, will they have the same results? According to Sagar, to enhance the reliability of your action research data, you should continually ask these questions:

  • Is this information an accurate representation of reality?
  • Can I think of any reasons to be suspicious of its accuracy?

I know that if someone were to do the same study as me, they will not get the same results because people are different; people behave in different ways, depending on their culture and experiences.

Consent is whether or not the respondent’s agree to participate in a study, use their name in the research, or photographs, according to an article titled “Ethical Issues in Conducting Research.” Confidentiality is very important, if the respondent chooses to keep their information private. I didn’t tell my students I was conducting a study, therefore I will be using first name and last name initials to label my students.

Resources:

Authenticity – Validity, triangulation, reliability- and generalisability. (n.d.). Retrieved November 7, 2015, from https://pebblepad.wlv.ac.uk/viewasset.aspx?oid=103268&type=webfolio&pageoid=111981

Ethical Issues in Conducting Research. (n.d.). Retrieved November 7, 2015, from https://www.sagepub.com/sites/default/files/upm-binaries/26094_3.pdf

Merriam, S., & Merriam, S. (2009). Qualitative research: A guide to design and implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Membership. (n.d.). Retrieved November 7, 2015, from http://www.ascd.org/publications/books/100047/chapters/Data-Collection@-Building-a-Valid-and-Reliable-Data-Collection-Plan.aspx

4 thoughts on “EDET 636 Week 10

  1. I agree that many times a parent can influence a students behavior. If they are not doing well in school and they talk to them many times you will see a difference or if they are doing well they may get rewarded at home and continue this behavior. That is good that class dojo shares results with the parents. I didn’t tell my students either but I don’t know if I will be using any name at all anyway. I will probably just describes the different classes and their responses. Nice job!

    Like

  2. Tristan

    I would have never have thought to survey my student’s parents. That’s an awesome idea especially when working with the little guys who necessarily have the skills to answer those types of questions yet. I’ll have to remember that for the future if I ever teach younger grades.

    Like

  3. Genevieve,

    I also did not inform my students about the research, because I didn’t want that information to change their behavior in class. Because of that, all of my data has been anonymous so far. The surveys that I have and will be collecting do not have student names attached, and any observations I have made so far have been generalized for each class. I think this should keep student information confidential, and help me maintain appropriate ethics in my research.

    Like

  4. Sara Lucas

    I also did not inform my students entirely. Knowing my students if I told them they would have done the opposite of what I wanted. I did tell them that we were trying out Twitter to see if it would help them in class. Because I gave them a survey and wanted honest information I figured I needed to give them a reason to take the survey seriously. For my students initials would give them away to anyone in our village or even some of the villages close by. For this reason I will either give the students different names (Tristan said she was using student A, student b, etc.) or I will just tell the number of students that did a certain thing (Sarah gave this suggestion).

    Like

Leave a Reply

