DET 668 Week 12

Consider your own context within your school and with your mentee. How can understanding of controlled disruption and coherence making impact your leadership of peers at this time, and at this level ?

Productive disturbance is to “disturb them in a manner that approximates the desired outcome,” (Fullan, 109). I think of it as making changes, or working through problems, that result in productive outcomes. In the beginning of the mentoring project, my mentee was a little hesitant to use technology, but because of her lack of experience, she was on board. This teacher has a busy schedule, so really the only time she implements class dojo is during math. She tried throughout the school day, but having to change her classroom routines and procedures wasn’t working. It was a distraction for her third grade class, and she didn’t want to change her student/teacher game she has in place during her reading time. Her and her students are used to the change now, they use it daily and everyone is participating.

“Coherence making involves seeking a balance between letting go and even encouraging disturbance on the one hand and building coherence, sense and direction on the other,” according to an article written by McCluskey. I think this is very important for the leaders and teachers in the schools to understand. Everyone needs to be on common ground and make sense of the change that is happening. Disturbing the system in such a manner “that approximates the desired outcome,” (Fullan, 109). Sometimes I don’t agree with some of the things the principal does in the school. These are mainly traditional, school spirit things. I just see how a lot has changed since I was in school, or since my younger sister was. It feels like our school spirit has been lost, students’ motivation has decreased, and I think its part of how the leader has changed things around the school. We discussed ways we can make our school and community feel more united.

“While disturbing the status quo appears to contradict coherence making, unsettling processes provided the best route to greater all-round coherence,” Leading in Education. I think about what it was like when I was in grade school, and today (the school in which I teach), how we are going thru changes that may seem unsettling now, but will have a greater outcome in the end. Our new school, the new teacher evaluation, new teachers, new curriculum, etc. are all examples of changes that are happening in our school.

 

Resources:

Fullan, M. (2014). Leading in a Culture of Change. Somerset, NJ, USA: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Governance and Leadership Development. (n.d.). Retrieved November 21, 2015, from http://schoolboardsleadersinchange.blogspot.com/2010/02/coherence-making.html

Leading in Education. (n.d.). Retrieved November 21, 2015, from http://www.mikemcmahon.info/leadingcoherence.htm

Leading in complex situations. (n.d.). Retrieved November 21, 2015, from http://www.connected.org/learn/leadership.html

 

Update:

We are going to continue using Class Dojo after this mentorship because it’s working great with the kids. We have discussed how it’s okay that she doesn’t use the ipad because she’s uncomfortable with it. I’m fine with her using the computer (it’s a start).

 

3 thoughts on “DET 668 Week 12

  1. I think it’s good your mentee is open to trying to change and it’s equally as good that she recognizes that she is only comfortable to use class dojo during math. For almost 7 years I used the color card system for behavior (green, yellow, and red), it was something I felt very comfortable using and it worked for me and my students. One year I tried not using any sort of behavior system. I was going to try to the take behavior as it comes approach, but I soon felt overwhelmed because I didn’t have a system in place. This year I decided to use class dojo, because I am piloting tablets for my class and I was hoping the students could track their points on their tablets. It took a few weeks to get used to, but now I can’t imagine why it took me so long to try class dojo. I am able to send home student reports on their behavior and parents can connect to their child’s account to see how they are doing. Plus I think it’s important to use 21 century tools to show students and parents I am up to date on educational tools.

    Like

    1. I also use Class Dojo and love it. I use it almost exclusively on my computer and always have it up on the SmartBoard, even if it is just in the background. My parents love it too. I only have one parent who is not on it and I’m going to talk to them again this week about getting them signed up. I also have it on my iPad and iPhone. I bring my phone with me when we go get lunch and I award points to my students who are walking quietly in line. I started using it last year, when I taught kindergarten. I cannot say enough good things about it.

      Like

  2. You made some great points in response to the essential question! I agree that creating a balance between encouraging productive disturbance and building coherence and a sense of direction is an important role for a leader and mentor. We cannot script how these will take place but rather utilize Fullan’s five components of leading in a culture of change to inform our decisions and actions. With our experience, understanding of the change process, and relationships with others, we can see what types of disturbance will in fact be productive and which types will not achieve coherence making and a sense of direction and meaning. These disturbances that help us to ask critical questions and to examine our process more closely, can in fact lead to that “greater all-around coherence” you described. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

