EDET 668 Week 13

What is my Philosophy of Adaptation?

My Philosophy of Adaptation consists of three things. The first is about what I believe will guide teachers and leaders in adapting to change. The next is how I believe gaming will help my students in adapting to the use of technology, and lastly how I believe following the five components of leadership will help in the transitioning process.

There are five components of leadership that support change. I believe that in order to have a successful transition leaders need to incorporate all five components with their staff: moral purpose, understanding the changing process, relationship building, sharing and creating knowledge, and coherence making.

“Moral purpose is critical to the long-term success of all organizations, “ (Fullan, 5). When leaders can explain their moral purpose, we get an understanding of what their vision is. Another component that I believe will help teachers and leaders adapt to change is understanding the changing process. When leaders can explain the reasons behind the transition, and what the vision is, it ensures that everyone is on the same page. The third component that will help with the changing process is relationship building. Leaders must be excellent at building relationships with all individuals and groups. When relationships progress things get better. The fourth component is knowledge creation and sharing. Knowledge creation and sharing is how leaders generate and build knowledge inside and outside the organization. The last component is coherence making. “Leaders will increase their effectiveness if they continually work on the five components of leadership… if leaders do so, the rewards and benefits will be enormous,” (Fullan, 11). I believe the five components of leadership is the most positive and effective approach when adapting to change.

The next part of my philosophy consists of how I can support my students in the changing process. I believe that gaming can support my students with adapting to technology use. “In a world of near-constant flux, play becomes a strategy for embracing change, rather than a way for growing out of it,” (Thomas, et.al, loc 560). “Play provides the opportunity to leap, experiment, fail and continue to play with different outcomes,” (Thomas, et.al, loc, 1378).

In an article called, “Games Kids Love to Play,” it talks about how playing games can build community. I believe that if we teach children the right way to “play,” it can teach kids the important qualities of cooperation, responsibility and self-control. I believe that planning your instruction around technology use through gaming, will not only support student engagement, but will also help students learn and adapt to the changing process. “On average, using academic games in the classroom is associated with a 20 percentile point gain in student achievement,” according to Dr. Marzano. “By playing a game, students may be able to understand a new concept or idea, take on a different perspective, or experiment with different options or variables,” (Stathakis, 2013).

I vision my classroom as a technology based learning environment. As an educator, I see myself implementing the five components of effective leadership to support my students adapting to change. I see my students playing games on their iPads to stay engaged and learn at the same time. I also see myself helping other teachers adapt to change by implementing the five components of leadership. This way they can effectively integrate technology and gaming into their curriculum.

Resources:

Engaging Classroom Games for All Grades. (n.d.). Retrieved October 9, 2015, from http://www.teachhub.com/engaging-classroom-games-all-grades

Fullan, M. (2014). Leading in a Culture of Change. Somerset, NJ, USA: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Thomas, D., & Brown, J. (2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Lexington, Ky.: [CreateSpace?].

Robert, M. (2010). The Art and Science of Teaching / Using Games to Enhance Student Achievement. In Educational Leadership (5th ed., Vol. 67). ASCD.

Stathakis, R. (2013). Five Reasons to Use Games in the Classroom. Retrieved December 2, 2015, from http://www.educationworld.com/a_curr/reasons-to-play-games-in-the-classroom.shtml

 

2 thoughts on “EDET 668 Week 13

  1. It was interesting reading about your views on using gaming in the classroom and how it relates to teaching change. I never correlated the two before, but I can totally see the benefits. Gaming can help teach students to adapt and change with in their game while problem solving. And it seems that many students feel comfortable with gaming because they have grown up in a gaming culture.

    Like

  2. I love that you have three parts to your philosophy of adaptation. It is not just a quick cut and dry statement but intertwined in so many things. Being able to support change through the use of leadership skills and including current technology is just the tip of the iceberg. I love your vision of your own classroom. This is a technological age and we need to be using it to our benefit. If we use what they know and are comfortable with they will be more willing to try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

