EDET 637 Week 11

EDET 637 Week 11

 Essential question: What are my challenges and successes in implementing my unit? 

Immediately starting my unit, I was already faced with challenges. I started my unit off with a hook- what is your favorite summer activity, what do you like fishing for? Following the hook questions, we as a whole group completed a KWL Chart. I asked the students the following questions: what is a life cycle, what is a salmon’s life cycle, what is migration? The students had trouble with the “K” part on the chart at first, but after I rephrased my questions, and had them watch a short video clip on Brain Pop Jr. called “Migration,” students were able to give me a little bit of feedback. For instance, one student answered with: fish migrate back to where they were born.

I initially planned to use Google Maps on iPads using AirServer, so as I taught, students would be able to follow along on their iPads. However, my AirServer was not working. Because one of my goals was for students to use Google Maps to search locations, I decided to use my laptop. Since I wasn’t able to show students how to use Google Maps on iPads, I made the choice to not have students use theirs. After I taught students the different stages, I used my laptop to show the exact locations and we printed those pictures for our final art projects.

Some of the successes I had in my unit included preparation and note taking. Prior to teaching my unit, I used my HDMI cord to project the outline of the salmon’s body onto my white board. Students got one salmon outline and had to cut it out themselves. This made time go by so much faster. If I had students trace their own salmon, it would have taken up a lot of instructional and independent work time. Students were able to go from note taking, to working on their art project instead of waiting.

I made my own salmon life cycle art project before I taught the unit. This was used as a visual for the final product. The students referred to this throughout the unit. It really helped those students who were struggling working independently. I also had students scan a QR code to take them to pictures of king salmon. For instance, one of the QR codes was a link to the fish and game website: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=chinook.main

Students used the picture to draw and color in the attributes of a king salmon.

Another success included note taking. I used my pre-made note-taking template (which was initially for slow writers) and printed off a copy for each student. At the pace we were going, I knew that if I had those fast writers take their own notes, it would double the amount of instructional time. I used my HDMI cord to project my note-taking template, and I typed my notes and students filled in their notes. I introduced two stages each day in the salmon’s life cycle and showed a picture of that stage. Students took notes and drew pictures; we Google mapped that location, screenshot and printed it off. At the end of each day, I asked students what they learned and if we answered any of our W questions on our KWL Chart.

Leave a Reply

