EDET 637 Week 12

 

What evidence am I collecting for my final project – and for what purpose?

My blog from week 11 describes the different ways I prepared for student work, engagement, content and structure of lessons. I had to change up a few things this week. For instance, I added another final along with the art project- the vocabulary assessment. Because I wasn’t able to incorporate Google maps on the iPads, I needed more evidence that students learned the material.

Each day, I taught two new stages in the salmon’s life cycle. My students were given handouts to take notes, and draw examples of the fish in those stages. This was one way I was able to track student progress.

At the end of the unit, I had students make a folded adult Chinook salmon art project. Their project had to have the salmon’s life cycle and pictures of the locations of where that salmon is and in what stage. I had students do this to show evidence they understand where the fish is in that stage. I had a model made prior to the unit starting for students to refer to and know what I’m expecting.

Following the art project, as a whole group my students finished the KWL Chart (the L part). They were able to answer the “W” questions. Then, we did a whole group review before our test.

In the vocabulary assessments, the students had to match the stage in the fish’s life cycle to the correct definition. I wanted to make sure my students understood each stage and its attributes.

Everyday after a lesson, I asked students: what two stages did you learn today? What did you learn yesterday? I always went back to our essential question: Why is each stage important in the life cycle of a salmon, or what is the purpose of each stage in the life cycle of salmon?

I attached pictures of student work, the KWL Chart, the pictures of the locations during the life cycle, the notes I created, and the vocabulary assessment.

student work

Notes and assessment

3 thoughts on “EDET 637 Week 12

  1. Genevieve,

    If students were to bring their own device (BYOD), would they be able to incorporate Google maps onto these? I know some schools have a policy for BYOD, this might be a good example for the advantage of having their devices with them. Or was it an Internet filtering issue that you weren’t able to incorporate Google maps on the iPads?

    What an excellent idea to incorporate art into your science lesson! When they matched the stages of the fish’s life cycle to definitions, they were getting plenty of practice with the vocabulary. This lesson will cross over into biomes (like the river, and on out into the ocean) where they will study the bigger picture of how each life cycle impacts the life cycle of other creatures.

    The pictures with the sentences are so awesome! The matching stages of the life cycle to the definition is cool too.

    I have not tried scanning in and attaching anything to the WordPress blog yet. It looks great! Thank you for providing that example.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sara Lucas

    Your assessment looks great!! I should’ve done something similar. I just didn’t want to take away time from our project. I love the artwork!! Your one picture of kids shows them all clearly engaged. This has been one of my biggest takeaways from teaching this unit. I am finding that students want to work and I don’t have to worry very much about behavior. Are you finding the same thing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

