Week 12 Reflection

In my classroom, I use a learning scale to determine students’ understanding (1-3). If a student understands and can do it alone, they are a 3; if a student doesn’t understand the objective, or cannot answer the essential question, that’s a 1. I realized after reading Larissa’s post that I didn’t incorporate my learning scale. She mentioned that she used the traffic light system, (same concept). Sally said she corrected students’ work when done, and then handed back for corrections. During my final vocabulary assessment, that’s what I did. I had one student who got half the questions wrong. This was one student who required additional support. Because I teach science to primary grade levels (1-2), I never hand back work that is incorrect and I don’t let my students leave my classroom feeling like they failed. He did get the vocabulary words correct at the end.

Leave a Reply

