Week 6

EDET 677 Week 6 What stuff will you stock your making space with, what’s the cost, and how will you fund it?

There are a lot of things I’d like to stock my makerspace with. I want my makerspace to include a basic stock of supplies to keep my students’ feeling challenged, inspired, and busy (Martinez, et.al, loc., 3336). This includes a 3D printer, electronic parts and tools, computers, cameras, software, craft and art supplies, building materials and traditional tools, recycling and reusable produces, and a library.

My electronics would include soldering irons and supplies, LEDs, buzzers or things that light up and can make sounds, batteries, wire cutters, tweezers, etc., (Martinez, et.al, loc., 3345).

“Computers are the most versatile part of your makerspace,” according to Martinez. I don’t have desktops in my classroom, nor do I have laptops for each student, but I know that I can easily get desktop computers set up in my makerspace. I’d begin collecting peripherals and parts that students can use whenever: cables, memory cards, blank CDs/DVDs, microphones, speakers, headsets, software, etc., (Martinez, et.al, loc., 3364). I’d also begin collecting video cameras and phones. On my desktop computers, I would install the tools needed for students to create or design their projects. Martinez recommends Hyperstudio, Tech4Learning, and Animatonish (loc., 3393).

I have a great collection of art supplies in my classroom already: glue guns/sticks, felt, card stock, stickers, pipe cleaners, sewing supplies, tape, scissors, popsicle sticks, modeling clay, containers, beads, the list can go on. But I can always have more.

I’d like my makerspace to include a variety of building materials and tools. This includes pliers, hammers, clamps, screwdrivers, drills, lumber, plywood, cardboard, glue, hooks, pins, nails, screws, bolts, washers, etc., (Martinez, et.al, loc., 3406). Old phones, calculators, remote controls, clocks, radios, TVs, and any other unnecessary house old items that are no longer needed.

I think one of the most important things needed in a makerspace is a library. Students need to have access to all kids of books that will inspire them and spark their imaginations (Martinez, et.al, loc., 3445).

It would be nice if I can get all of these things free. According to the article, “The Beginners Guide to Makerspaces,” we should “keep it local” and ask for donations from in the area. Since Koliganek is really small village, I’d ask for donations from our school district, our village corporation, our Native Corporation, and our village’s environmental organization for donations. The article suggests asking local hardware stores, local illustrators, university programs,    Regional economic development authorities and large universities/corporations.

Paloma-Garcia Lopez suggests first finding a space. My classroom is really small, but our school will have an extra room this coming school year. There are no available buildings in our community with Internet connection that would work for a makerspace except the school. Another good way to start up a space is to get a club going. If I can have a makerspace club afterschool, or sometime during the school day, I know that I’d be able to use that extra classroom.

Building a makerspace classroom sounds like a lot of work, but once it’s together and everyone understands the philosophy of it, it’ll be worth it.

Resources:

Garcia-Lopez, P. (2013, September 05). 6 Strategies for Funding a Makerspace. Retrieved June 21, 2016, from http://www.edutopia.org/blog/6-strategies-funding-makerspace-paloma-garcia-lopez

 

Martinez, S. L., & Stager, G. (n.d.). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Retrieved June 21, 2016.

 

The Beginner’s Guide to Makerspaces   Tags: Edtech, fab labs, makerspaces, school libraries  . (2016, February 14). Retrieved June 21, 2016, from http://libraryschool.libguidescms.com/content.php?pid=669125

 

 

3 thoughts on “Week 6

  1. You have a lofty goal, but it sounds very doable! I think asking village and Native corporations is a fantastic idea! (I can’t believe I didn’t think of that one) It’s a great way to connect with the community, and maybe help connect your expertise with theirs. I know one of my goals is to invite community members into my class to see what we are doing, share their knowledge, and hopefully further inspire my kiddos to see more possibilities.

    Like

  2. Genevieve, you’ve really thought about how your makerspace will work, given the logistics of your village. You’ve thought about what supplies you’ll need, which ones you already have, and where you can locate the makerspace. This sounds like an excellent use of the extra room, and if you’re able to get other teachers and community members on board, it can help you share the work for getting the makerspace up and running. I’m planning on starting smaller by having a section of my room devoted to making supplies and scheduling days for making in my middle school math classroom. Now that you’ve got your supply list ready, you’re all set to start putting together a budget! Great ideas for funding sources, too!

    Like

  3. When I was teaching in the village, I understand the remoteness and challenges to get items out there! Great that you have supplies already and want to get more. I would like to get a 3D printer too. There would be so many possibilities. If I remember, you teach k-3 so it would be great to print little figurines, or cool stuff for your students to play with. Heck, they can design a toy of some sort! 3D printers can be expensive, but to print small items, you can get away with a basic small printer. And like our reading assignments says, there are hundreds/thousands of designs already out there on the web that you wouldn’t have trouble finding something to print. I even found a pinhole camera design, a handful actually, that I could have printed my daughter’s pinhole camera for her project she did during school this last year! Have fun…

    Like

Leave a Reply

