Reflection Week 9

This week we read about maker days. I was thinking about what I currently implement in my room; Class Dojo to manage behavior. If the class reaches a certain amount of class points (i.e. 50 points), we cross out a letter in the word “maker day.” Once all the letters are crossed out, we would celebrate by having a Maker Day. I think this would be a great reward and students would work very hard to reach their class goal. I liked Catherine’s idea of having a “pilot” maker day. First inviting just the parents to work out the kinks, and small details before inviting the whole community. Because I teach K-1, I would partner with an intermediate teacher to coordinate a maker day. Just because students at that grade level can pair up with one of my kindergarteners and work together to advertise, fundraise, prepare, etc.

Leave a Reply

