Reflection Week 5

This week I learned a lot about what takes place “behind the scenes” of online course design. I now understand how much time instructors need to prepare to meet all students’ needs. One of the things that really stuck with me about designing courses online, was the layout of the webpage: white space, font, length of reading… all these little things are factors that can keep your students engaged or lose interest. This is especially true for me because when I see a lengthily reading assignment, I lose interest. I read that we should keep our sentences or learning objectives, short and sweet and to the point. Dan made a good point that the ISD model acts as a guide, it helps us stay organized and structured, and limits the number of trial and errors; which I agreed on.

Leave a Reply

